Post in our forum for parents, teens - You! - at

Thursday, October 16, 2008

Think b4 u click to YouTube videos!

If your kids watch a lot of YouTube videos, suggest they make sure the URL in their browser window actually says "" before they click to that page. Another tip-off to the latest malicious hack against YouTube users is that the fake YouTube page will show "an error message that claims the video they want won't play without installing new software first," according to coverage in the San Jose Mercury News. Almost any kid who's ever watched a YouTube video will know a player's not needed, but it's still good to be put on alert. "That error message includes a link the hacker has provided to a malicious program, which delivers a virus." When I asked YouTube about this, they wrote back saying, "We are aware that there is a malware threat from fake Websites posing as YouTube and inviting users to download a plug-in to watch a YouTube Video." Because the sites are on other servers, of course, YouTube has no control over them.

Labels: , ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home